Determining Your Workers’ Compensation Settlement in Georgia
Because you don’t have to prove employer negligence in Georgia workers’ compensation cases, you may think that securing benefits will be easy and straightforward. However, a significant number of workers don’t take advantage of all of their injured worker rights and don’t receive full and proper payment for the accident, injury, lost wages, and subsequent disabilities.
We want all injured workers in Georgia to receive the maximum amount of workers’ compensation that they are entitled to under the law. At Van Sant Law, LLC we make sure this happens by closely analyzing each injury case that comes across our desks, from examining medical records to interviewing witnesses. We know that both employers and workers’ comp insurance companies will go out of their way to limit injured worker benefits, and we are here to make sure that your settlement is swift and fair.How Georgia Workers’ Compensation Benefits are Calculated
The amount of compensation and the types of benefits you will receive depends on a number of factors related to your job and injury. When calculating your settlement, we may ask you the following questions:
- What was your weekly salary before the accident? Workers’ compensation benefits often pay two-thirds of your weekly salary, up to $525 per week. If you make a variable amount of money per week, your compensation will be based upon an average of past weekly amounts.
- How much did your medical bills and related expenses cost? Your workers’ comp should cover all of your hospital bills and doctors’ appointments, including some types of rehabilitation therapies. You may also receive reimbursement for some travel expenses related to your injury and recovery.
- Was your accident caused by your misconduct? If your accident happened because you were under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or because you were acting recklessly, you may not be able to collect workers’ compensation.
- How much work did you miss during your recovery? When you can’t work at all after an accident, you will receive temporary total disability income benefits (TTD) until you return to work. You may receive a maximum of 400 weeks of TTD coverage.
- Were you partially disabled at any point after your accident? Some workers can return to their jobs after an accident, but can’t take on their old responsibilities due to temporary, partial disabilities stemming from their injuries. If you are working a lower-paying job because of your injury, you may qualify for temporary partial disability benefits (TPD).
- Did you suffer a catastrophic injury, or were you permanently disabled by your accident? Some types of injuries, such as traumatic brain injuries, severe burns, lost limbs, and spinal cord injuries, cause permanent damage and long-term health issues. In these cases, you may qualify for permanent partial disability benefits (PPD). Depending on the details of your injury and on your disability rating, you could receive significant benefits for an unlimited amount of time.
The family of a fatally injured worker in Georgia will receive $7,500 for burial and funeral expenses. In addition, the spouse, children, and dependents of the deceased worker may receive partial weekly income benefits based on the workers’ past salary. These payments may stop in the event of a spouse marrying again or living with a new partner.Find Out How Much Your Georgia Workers’ Comp Claim Is Worth
Are you wondering how much money you should be receiving in the wake of your on-the-job accident, or are you concerned that your employer is not offering you the correct amount? Let an experienced Georgia workers’ comp attorney assist you. Van Sant Law offers injured workers and their families free, private consultations. To schedule, call 404-991-5950 or fill out our short contact form.