Texting is considered particularly risky, as it combines manual, cognitive, and visual distractions. In fact, according to the National Safety Council, texting or talking on a cell phone leads to as many as 1.6 million car accidents and more than 4,600 deaths each year.
Georgia is one of several states with a legislature that’s stepped up to combat cell phone-related distracted driving accidents, injuries, and deaths. The state banned texting while driving in 2010 and the legislature passed the Hands-Free Georgia Act in 2018. The law makes it illegal for drivers to hold their cell phone or use any body part to support it while piloting the vehicle.
Motorists who violate the Hands-Free Georgia Act may be subject to increasingly stiff penalties such as:
- $50 fine and 1 point against the driver’s license for the first conviction—first-time offenders can often have the charged dropped if they show proof they’ve obtained a hands-free phone device.
- $100 fine and 2 points against the driver’s license for the second conviction—within 24 months of the first.
- $150 fine and 3 points against the driver’s license for subsequent convictions—within 24 months of the first.
Despite the laws in place to prevent cell phone-related distracted driving accidents, they still regularly occur in Georgia and can leave victims seriously injured, out of work, and facing unexpected medical bills.
Consult a Skilled Georgia Attorney About Your Car Accident Case
Were you hurt in an accident caused by a driver talking or texting on a cell phone? You may be entitled to compensation. The knowledgeable attorneys with Van Sant Law can review the facts of your case, and help you understand your legal rights and options. Contact us today to schedule an appointment for a free initial case consultation to find out if we can help you secure the damages you deserve.