Required Car Insurance in GA

Categories: Insurance

Insurance PolicyAre you almost 16 years of age, the youngest legal age to drive, in the state of Georgia?

Are you moving to the state of Georgia?

If so, you will need to know what the required car insurance is for drivers in the state. We will discuss the minimum car insurance required for drivers who wish to operate motor vehicles in the state of Georgia in this post.

Required Liability Insurance

In the state of Georgia, all licensed drivers are required to have the following liability insurance coverage to operate a motor vehicle:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance for one person involved in a car accident
  • Bodily injury liability insurance for all people involved in a car accident
  • Property damage liability insurance for one accident
The minimum coverage needed for the three liability insurance types listed above include the following:
  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability insurance for one person in an accident
  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability insurance for multiple people in an accident
  • $25,000 of property damage liability insurance for one accident

It is important to realize that if you are involved in a car accident while driving in a state other than Georgia, and your coverage does not meet the requirements of that state, your Georgia state auto insurance will be raised to meet those minimums.

Teen Driving Laws in Georgia

It is important to note the driving laws for teens in the state of Georgia. At the age of 15, teens can drive using an instructional permit as long as they drive with someone age 21 or older. Teens between the ages of 16 and 18 can operate a motor vehicle using a Class D intermediate driver’s license after holding a permit for one year and one day. Once the teen is 18, he or she can operate a motor vehicle using a Class C full driver’s license.

What You Don’t Need to be Legal, but Should Have to Protect Yourself

Even though you are not required to have these items in Georgia, you can still opt to purchase them for your well being. You can purchase uninsured motorist coverage in an amount equal to your underlying liability limits and you can also purchase medical payments coverage which will pay dollar for dollar for medical expenses you incur as a result of a car accident.

Other optional forms of car insurance you can purchase in Georgia include comprehensive coverage, which will protect you from damage incurred from events other than accidents. These events include storms and vandalism. It is also common for drivers to purchase rental car coverage, which will protect them should an accident occur while renting a vehicle.  This is explained in much more detail on our website at /personal-injury-faq/#QA7

Contact the office of Van Sant Law at 888-648-9844 or fill out the online contact form on our website and we will return your call within 24 hours to discuss Georgia car insurance coverage and motor vehicle accidents.